How to Ring in the New Year with 5 Toddlers

I can’t belive it’s the end of the year – I’ve been waiting for this to come!  (Sorry, but yes, I do will the time to fly by!). As I sit here listening to the noises of 5 toddlers not sleeping (because that would really suck for all of my kids to take a nap when they are supposed to!) I’m just really trying to reflect on the past year and think of the year ahead.  2014 was better than 2013, and I think 2015 will be even better.  It feels good to say that.  It feels good to believe that life is getting better.  That we are getting more mobile, and things are getting easier.  Of course, life with this many kids still comes with its challenges, such as being house-bound a lot, and living with high levels of anxiety.

Today is just one of those days where my patience is tested, and then I have a lovely couple of moments where I am curled up in the recliner with two of my babies and I’m filled with so much love and pride, and hopefulness.  I want more of those moments.  I want to really appreciate my family more in 2015.  I want to be thankful for everyone’s health and general well-being, and to work on mine.  This starts with a fun surgery to repair my torn ab muscles (thanks quads for literally ripping mommy in half!) and then a recovery, and a rebuilding of my body and fitness in time for soccer and an anniversary vacation with my husband.  Beyond that, I plan on taking life day by day, getting and staying organized, and finding happiness every day in the big things, as well as the little things.

So I’m ending my year on kind of a low note, as I’m exhausted with a headache, Brian is working until dinner (so glad he got that week off!) and I’m just running out of patience, but I’m reminding myself that tomorrow is a new beginning, a chance to regroup mentally and get myself psyched for 2015.  It will be better!

The plan for ringing in the new year??  A far cry from the days of trying to decide which party or which bar to celebrate at.  My plan is to get through the rest of the day as quickly as possible until Brian gets home, and then we are going to enjoy a dinner of unhealthy appetizers like pizza rolls, pizza bagels, mozzarella sticks and potato skins.  Can’t wait!  After that, it’s all about watching the Charlie Brown New Year’s special getting the kids to bed.  Then maybe a drink, a movie and sleepy time!  I’m not crazy enough to try to stay awake to see the ball drop.  I’d be paying for that all day tomorrow, and I’m really not into being miserable on Pajama Sushi Day (every year we buy new pajamas or sweats and we enjoy sushi on New Year’s Day – aah the glamorous life we lead)

As we say goodbye to 2014, I reflect back on the year and all the people who have helped us get through it.  We are so lucky and thankful to have so many wonderful friends and family in our lives.  I wish we could repay all the kindnesses we’ve received, but we do what we can and try to pay it forward.

I would drone on, but the troops are getting restless in their beds.  Happy New Year everyone!  Hope your 2015 is amazing!

5 thoughts on “How to Ring in the New Year with 5 Toddlers

  1. I still don’t know how you do it! Days without coinciding naps absolutely drain me. Most days they’re both home drain me by lunchtime. You have my respect!

  2. You are amazing and have those five beautiful children to prove it!! 2015 will be a great year, thanks for letting me be a small part of it. See you Wed. Have missed you all.

    Sent from my iPad

  3. Nice.  I agree with your observations on 2013 and 2014.  Not that they were bad years, but 2015 will be better.  We being younger at heart than you will stay up a little past midnight.  Of course we don’t have the tiring schedule you do, so we can conserve our energy.  Happy New Year to you both!

Leave a Reply

