We achieved our goal!

Holy crap we made it.  Months and months ago, Brian and I said that 32 weeks was our goal.  August 15th seemed like a lifetime away.  And now we are here!  I knew we would make it, but it still amazes me to have 4 healthy babies still in here.  My nurse was right, we should bronze my uterus and put it on display after this.  LOL!  Seriously though, it must be comfy in there.

My bloodwork from Tuesday was all normal, and more importantly, we had our growth scan yesterday.  I seriously hate going down to ATU for the ultrasound, except for the results.  It was especially awful yesterday.  Those hard tables are rough on my body, especially my back.  I brought a bed pillow with me to alleviate the pressure on my vena cava, and at least that helped me not to want to pass out.  But the back and pelvic pain was so wicked, that when the tech asked me to roll onto my side, I could barely do it.  At the end, I had laid there for about an hour, and I could not get up.  I was literally stuck on that table.  I was almost in tears when Brian was pulling me up.  So for half of yesterday, I walked like an 95 year old lady.  Thank goodness all the bed rest helped with the pain.  Turns out my sweet baby boy A was so low down there.  That was putting all the pressure on and causing a lot of the pain.  He was so low she couldn’t even see his head with the scanner!  I’m happy that today he’s not as low and I feel way better.

But back to yesterday’s growth scan, everything was great!  There was talk of possibly having to take them if one wasn’t growing as he or she should, but I knew that wouldn’t happen.  Here are the current estimated weights:

Baby A (boy): 4lbs

Baby B (girl):  4lbs4ozs

Baby C (girl): 4lbs

Baby D (boy): 3lbs15ozs

I was so happy to hear that they were all still growing appropriately, and that they were all so close in size!  Everything looked great with them, including fluid, blood flow, movement, etc.  These babies are amazing! 

Next we look forward to our delivery date of August 22nd, one week away.  In the meantime I’ll have two biophysical profiles and a 24-hour urine collection, but I don’t anticipate any issues.  I have a feeling that this week is going to pass by very slowly.  I’m nervous about the C-section, but still beyond excited to get through it and get to the next part.

I called the assistant nursing manager here, and talked to her about what I could expect with the babies, provided they make it to the target date.  She said they will have to intubate them, and probably give them surfactant, which is the stuff that makes their lungs slippery and help them to work properly without sticking.  She said they could probably then take the tube out and they would have the nasal cannula.  They would get fluids via IV at first, and then a week later, at 34 weeks, they would start trying to feed them with bottles.  Of course, none of this is set in stone because we don’t know what their health status will be when they come out, and they could end up worse or better.  But it’s still nice to have an idea of what to expect.

I’m so excited to meet these babies, give them their names, and share them with all of you.  Since you all helped us to get to 32 weeks, your next mission is just to help them come into this world in the best health possible, and to continue to grow and thrive once they are born.  I cannot thank you all enough for your love and support.  It means more than you know, and has been a great motivator for me.  Your kind words have kept my spirits up, even on the really tough days.  Thank you, thank you, thank you all!!

17 thoughts on “We achieved our goal!

  1. This is so great! I’m glad you are in the home stretch, and that your little crew is so healthy. I have a new appreciation for you today. last night I had a dream that I was having quadruplets (I’m on your BBC birth board). It wasn’t until that “real life” experience that I even really began to fathom what that would mean. We would need to buy a new car just to be able to bring the babies home from the hospital. Three new car seats… four times the diapers and feedings, and would I even be able to breastfeed quadruplets? I wouldn’t be able to work. I had never really thought of this stuff before. You are my hero. I wish I knew you in real life, so that I could gain inspiration from you and offer you help.

    • Wow that is amazing to hear. Really though, you do what you have to do. New car, new house, accepting help, hand me downs. We just had to come to grips with reality and do what we could for these babies within our means. And remember to be flexible and let go of some control 🙂

Leave a Reply

