Home Sweet Home

20130703-202830.jpg

Woohoo! I’m home! It felt so wrong to drive out of the parking garage, like I was sneaking out! But I’m glad to be home. The weird part is that I came home to a new home, familiar yet unfamiliar at the same time. And our stuff is not all over here yet, so it’s a bit chaotic and will take time to get everything over here and organized. It’s hard not to do stuff. Already I’ve done too much and registered too many contractions on the monitor so I’m doing some extra monitoring. Brian got mad at me, so I promised I’d be better from now on. I will! Easton was happy to see me when he woke up from his nap, which was awesome. And my cat Murphy has been my little buddy again, so that’s nice too!

The reason I was able to come home was because these babies are rock stars! They are all measuring about two pounds each, and have nice strong heartbeats. Plus, I had a cervix check, and there’s been no change since I got admitted to the hospital two weeks ago. Yay! Oh yeah, they also weighed me, and I’ve gained 45lbs so far. It sounds horrendous, but my doctor said total I should gain about 65 lbs. So I’m actually doing well.

Before Brian sprung me out of the hospital, we also got to take a tour of the NICU. It’s inevitable that the babies will spend some time there, so it’s best to be prepared for what it would be like. It was overwhelming, to say the least. Seeing those babies, so tiny, with all the bells and whistles around them brought tears to my eyes. At the same time though, it was encouraging to hear the stories of tiny one-pound babies thriving and to see all the wonderful nurses and doctors taking such good care of them. They told us they have already started forming a contingency plan for our quads, so it’s nice to know they will be prepared for them to arrive.

The coolest part was that as we were leaving the NICU, the last set of quads born there were visiting! They are 15 months old and doing great, so it was awesome to meet them and chat with them for a little while. She also offered her contact info so i can keep in touch and ask her questions. I think she will be a great resource for us, or even just a source of sanity. They have seven kids total, and are doing great, so what better role models could we have?

Being home will take some getting used to for me. I really need to remember to rest a ton, and don’t go following Easton around or getting up too much. I hate relying on other people, and just sitting around while others take care of my son, but it’s more important to do what I can to keep these babies I here as long as possible!

13 thoughts on “Home Sweet Home

Leave a Reply

