A Pretty Uneventful (so basically good) Update

Well, there’s really not much to update on. I’m still here, and will be for at least a week! I did get to shower yesterday, which was amazing once I figured out that “hot” actually means “cold”, and to get hot water I had to set the lever halfway between hot and cold. And as soon as I got all nice and clean, I had a surprise visitor! I was so happy to have my wonderful mother-in-law visit, and spend a couple hours with me. Then my amazing husband came and also spent a couple hours with me. And after that, I did some reading, then actually got a semi-normal night of sleep. Guess after the pitiful night I had before, I was tired enough.

This morning, I had an early visit from the resident doctor. Basically he just asked how I was doing and told me to get comfortable here! Yay. A couple hours later my main doctor came to see me and he also didn’t have much to say, just that the meds were working to stop my contractions, and that next week at some point I’d have another cervix check before they decide if I stay or go. The. A couple hours after that my other doctor came to visit. To add insult to injury he said since I was doing well and so were the babies, he’d let me go home. But unfortunately he’s not the one calling the shots. Oh well.

In the meantime, I continue to get Procardia to stop contractions every six hours, and last night I had a second steroid shot. Thank goodness that nurse was much more gentle than the first! But it still hurts when those meds are pumped into your butt cheek. I don’t know how all these athletes do that all the time!

I had an ultrasound today to check the babies’ heartbeats, and they are all doing great! And my monitoring this morning showed no contractions. So I’m really doing as well as can be expected physically.

Emotionally, of course I am missing my boy like crazy. He had a fun day with his grandparents at his cousin’s preschool graduation though! My husband is currently packing me up some clothes and things from home and he’s bringing him here to hang out! I can’t wait to see them both!

Other than that, just really appreciating all the check-ins and love I’m getting from family and friends. I really am a lucky girl to have so many around me that care. Thanks for all the continued good thoughts and prayers. I think they are doing the trick! Please keep them coming for the next six weeks or more!

10 thoughts on “A Pretty Uneventful (so basically good) Update

  1. So glad to hear you and the babies are doing good! The kids were upset to hear u were in the hospital but understand why. Gotta take mom to docs on Monday but will be by Tuesday if u r still there and want visitors. In the meantime, please let me know if I can do anything.

  2. I’m glad you’re doing well (I stumbled across your blog via BBC). I was wondering whether they would consider giving you the shots in your deltoid? It’s an intramuscular injection, and gluteal muscle injection is no longer common practice, that I know of at least (there’s a nerve plexus in that area). They can also consider the thigh as well. Just wanted to provide some questions for you to ask the nurses, as it sounds like you’re getting injections pretty frequently. Good luck!

  3. What a roller coaster for you! I hope you’re able to leave soon. With my first I delivered 5 weeks early, going in the week before having contractions and getting pumped up with Procardia, gotta love that stuff. Obviously you’re situation is completely different and probably more scary with 4, but if I can help in anyway let me know!
    Love your blog by the way…this is so incredible to me, the Leininger Family is always thinking about you and wish you all the best!

    Best,
    Valerie

Leave a Reply

