Wednesday Doctor Update 18 weeks

Went to the doctor yesterday for our bi-weekly cervical check.  Everything is still going great!  Our doctor said I had a “cervix like a rock.” LOL!  The only thing that isn’t so great is that Baby A’s placenta is all the way down by the cervix, which could cause some bleeding, but the doctor said that should move sometimes soon.  But he did limit any “activity” that might irritate it.  🙂 

We also got a regular ultrasound to check the heartbeats of the babies.  They are all getting so big and look so squished in there!  But they are all perfect.  Interestingly, the boys’ heartbeats are a little lower than they have been.  Still in normal range, but it just makes me wonder if there’s any truth to the old wives’ tale about girl’s heartbeats being higher than boys. 

We got to ask the doctor some questions, so I asked about the belly support bands.  Unfortunately they do  not do anything for belly pain or sciatica pain, both of which I’m having!!  We also asked about continuing to work and he said as long as the cervix is doing great I have no reason to stop.  He said probably in the 20-24 week range.  But of course, it’s up to me if I want to stop sooner.  Brian and I talked about it, and since it’s so uncomfortable for me, and I’m really sore afterwards, I will give notice that I will finish up at the end of this month.  I’m relieved!!  I hate leaving Easton anyway 🙂

So I don’t have a belly pic to post, but the doctor did a quick assessment and said that I’m measuring about in the 26-27 week range.  Which makes sense, because I look like I did when I was 6-7 months pregnant with Easton.  I can only imagine how uncomfortable I’m going to get in the next couple months!!

Leave a Reply

